Tuesday, February 5, 2008

Daniel Bego, Cai Lin Named Best Olympians

DANIEL (kiri) dan Cai Lin bangga bersama pingat dan cek yang dimenangi selaku Olimpian Terbaik 2007 pada majlis di Kuala Lumpur semalam.

KUALA LUMPUR, Feb 4 (Bernama) -- Swimmers Daniel William Henry Bego and Khoo Cai Lin were named Best Olympians of 2007 in the men's and women's categories respectively Monday night.

Each of them received a trophy and RM10,000 from Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak who is chairman of the Cabinet Committee on Sports at the indoor arena of the Olympic Council of Malaysia (OCM) here.

Daniel won the award after defeating other challengers like Mohd Qabil Ambak Muhammad Fathil (equestrian), Yeoh Ken Nee (diving), Lim Yoke Wai (karate) and Cheng Chu Sian (archery).

He has qualified for this year's Beijing Olympics in 100m and 200m butterfly and 200m freestyle. At the Korat Sea Games last year, he bagged two golds in 100m butterfly and 200m freestyle and set new games' records.

Cai Lin, who has also qualified for the Beijing Olympics albeit under Category B, received the award based on the two golds she won at the Sea Games in 400m and 800m freestyle.

She also set new games' records in both events and broke the national record in 800m set by Nurul Huda Abdullah in 1998 in Canton, China.

Two other women nominated for the award were Leong Mun Yee (diving) and Lim Wen Chean (gymnastics).

Meanwhile, 10 former sports officials and athletes made it to the OCM Hall of Fame.

The former officials are Sultan Azlan Muhibbuddin Shah of Perak (hockey), Tan Sri Elyas Omar (badminton, cycling, football), Datuk T. Paul Murugasu (football), Tunku Datuk Seri Adnan Tunku Besar Burhanuddin (hockey, judo), Tan Sri P. Alagendra (hockey) and Datuk Tan Chin Nam (chess).

The former athletes are Malek Noor (bodybuilding), Shaharuddin Jaafar (cycling), Yew Cheng Hoe (badminton) and Ng Seow Meng (badminton).