Wednesday, December 12, 2007

Men's Cycling Team Race Away With Sprint Gold

KORAT, Dec 11 (Bernama) -- The Malaysian men's cycling team raced away with the Sprint event gold but missed another two in the men's and women's Individual Pursuit on a blistering day at the King's Anniversary Sports Complex Velodrome here today.

Junaidi Mohamad Nasir, Mohd Azizulhasni, Muhamad Edrus Md Yunos clocked 1:03.033 in the three-lap race to beat Thailand's Sitichai Rittisil, Pongthep Tapimai, Wiwatchai Chuaikhun who finished with a time of 1:05.068.

The Malaysian cycling camp's joy was however short-lived when Uracca Leow lost the gold to Thailand's Chanpeng Nontasin while Amir Mustafa Rusli saw Alfie Catalan sneak ahead to win the gold in the men's event.

There was also heart-break for Uracca Leow in the women's Point Race when she could only manage a bronze while the women's team also finished with a bronze in the Women's Team Sprint.

Today's gold was the second from cycling after Mohd Rizal Tisin had won the men's 1km Time Trial.

Tomorrow, cycling offers another three gold medals through the individual sprint events.


No comments: